Letters to June, #4

Dear June,

I was thinking about time today. Time is such an interesting thing. There’s the concept of daylight savings, in which at 7:00am here in Hawaii is 10:00am (or 9:00am) in Washington. Or the sun could just be rising here at the same time the sun is setting somewhere on the other side of the Earth.

Then there’s the notion that time is constantly changing but time is also always constant. (Yes June, try and wrap your brain around that.)

Time is constant in that there is always 24 hours in a day, 60 minutes in an hour, 60 seconds in a minute. There is always 12 months in a year, seven days in a week. The number of days in each month is also relatively constant, well except in leap years but leap years are always four years apart.

And time is always changing. The yesterday is not the same as today and it will also be different tomorrow. Have you heard of the saying “of a different time”? The time when I was four years old was not the same as when I was ten. And that’s not the same as the time ten year olds are having today. Those growing up now is a different time from when I grew up. And the time I grew up is way different from the time my parents grew up, and so forth. It’s all a different time.

As I was growing up I remember watching TV but not spending the whole day doing just that. (We only had standard cable of basically like 10 channels.) And while my parents were at work and my siblings were at school, I stayed home with my grandparents and aunty (but they mostly kept to their side of the house). I spent time playing with my dolls and toys, playing outside in the garden, reading and imagining my own stories. I remember helping my grandma and aunty hand wash clothes and hang laundry, and helping my grandpa crush soda cans. It was a pretty great time June.

Do you ever wonder June of what time will be like five years from now? fifty years from now? How will the time be when (and if) I start my own family?

Often I feel like I’m running out of time. But sometimes I feel like I have all the time in the world. It’s all strange isn’t it June? Time sure is a funny little thing.

I hope this letter finds you at a good time. I’ll write to you soon.

Love and all the good things,

Lar

Leave a comment