Letters to June, #28

Hello June,

How do you answer phones? I don’t like talking on the phone that much. I’m still getting used to the sound of my voice, even after twentyfour years.

I usually answer the phone with “hello”. If I know the person – like if it’s my brother or sister or cousin – I’ll answer with “yo wassup”. If it’s my mom or dad calling I usually answer saying “mom” or “dad”. 

Are you aware we have different voices when we talk during different times with different means? Like we have a ‘telephone voice’. Whenever I answer an unfamiliar number or when my boss is calling me, I try to answer in a sweeter voice. Same goes when I make the call, maybe to make a reservation or something. My voice sounds different compared to if I were talking to my best friend or sister.

I just think it’s so tinteresting that our bodies adapt to different situations, even when we’re unconscious about doing it. I don’t know June. 

Anyways I’ll write to you soon.

Love and all the good things,

Lar

Leave a Reply

