Letters to June, #23

Dear June,

Like most people nowadays, I like taking pictures and videos on my phone. And it’s so easy because it’s already in our hands and practically attached to us. And there’s a lot of social media platforms we can easily post to instantly. It’s beautiful.

But there is a downside to it also I think June. We’re constantly on it, looking at it, playing with it. Human connection is losing its touch.

When I’m at dinner or out with my friends I try not to look or touch my phone. Maybe I’ll snap a photo of my food. Or a candid photo of the group. But checking my feed or game stats or whatnot, I won’t do. To me, that feels a little disrespectful.

Time is precious. And my time is valuable. So if I’m with you, hanging out and stuff, I wanna be with you. I kinda expect you to talk to me, look at me, interact with me. What’s the point of hanging out physically when you’re attention is in cyberspace?

I’m still teaching myself how to put away your phone. It’s so easy to use your phone as a shield, especially in awkward social instances. It’s nice to have it with you, nearby. But it’s also really nice not to feel attached to it. And just be in the moment when I’m hanging out with my friends. I don’t want to feel the need to constantly try to capture it in a photo or video. Because it’ll be gone before I know it. Sure memory can change and be lost over time, but isn’t making memories the best part of life? 

So why not be here in the now – without LCD screens, name handles, likes or filters. Live outside your phone. And I’m not saying that phones and social media is bad. Because I don’t think it is. I just don’t like how I’m starting to feel deoendent on it. And I don’t see it just in me, but in the people around me also.

So what I’m saying is: Just make memories with your best friends. You may not have much “evidence” of it happening but you’ll know it did. You’ll remember them.

But that’s just me June.

I’ll write to you soon.

Love and all the good things,

Lar

Leave a Reply

