Letters to June, #6

Dear June,

How do people do it? By “it”, I mean life. Because life is hard. I’m not just realizing that now, June. It’s just so difficult to balance everything and I’ve been thinking about that a lot.

Sometimes it feels like I have six jobs. 1) The one that actually pays me; 2) My cousin’s business I’m helping / a partner with; 3) My household duties; 4) My spiritual duties / volunteer work; 5) Mainting my relationships / social life; and 6) Taking care of myself.

And I’m glad I’m not in school anymore because that was another thing on my plate. I don’t know how high-school-me did it all, June. I was in school, had a job, and I was doing all the other things in the above list. How did I do it all? Especially without losing it. Was I stronger then? Wiser then? Shouldn’t I be more stronger and wiser now? Maybe it’s because I’m older and have more responsibility. Or maybe it’s because society is ever changing? Maybe I’m born with it? Maybe it’s Maybelline. (I’m sorry June, I just had to do it.)

But if you’re wondering June, I’m not losing it. Yet. I still have a hold on things in life. I know balance is key. And discretion. Also prioritizing. But I only have two hands, 24 hours in a day, seven days in a week, and one of me. Other people are balancing and living life just fine. Or maybe they’re better at showing that they’re fine. Or hiding that they’re not. I know everyone has their own things to deal with. 

Sometimes it feels like when one part of my life flourishes, the other parts slack off. That’s not how it’s supposed to me. It’s my life. All my “jobs” / parts are connected. So theoretically, when one part flourishes, all parts should flourish too. But it’s not always like that. In fact, it’s hardly that.

But that’s life, right June?

Anyways, I’ll write to you soon.

Love and all the good things,

Lar

Leave a Reply

