POW, #19 – Backyard

This week’s challenge: Tell the story of your immediate surroundings. Give us a glimpse into your daily life.

My neighborhood is quite peaceful, with houses farther apart than usual. It’s very nice but can get a little scary at night when there aren’t streetlights nearby. But I love where I live. How could I not when my back yard is this?


Well, actually this is more like my side yard. But my backyard is similar. We have a lot of trees – mango, papaya, pomegranate, guava, banana. Our neighborhood used to be a macadamia nut farm so we have a few trees on our lot. We also grow different fruits and vegetables – passionfruit, eggplant, moringa, and other vegetables I know the names in Filipino but not English.

My uncle comes also daily to tend our little farm. He also has a little chicken coop. I don’t often venture out to our farm because honestly the bugs scare me. (I know, I know, you don’t have to say it.)

I’m so thankful my parents work so hard to keep it looking so beautiful.

I am fortune to live in a beautiful place in a beautiful home on a very beautiful island. Where on one side I can see the ocean, on the other side I can see a mountain, and in front of me is another mountain. 

My home is  beautiful.

Leave a Reply

