April Favorites & All That Jazz

  • Nespresso ~ my sister recently bought one, it’s so nice. We use our little latte cups and it feels so legit. But since we got this we gave away our Keurig, and I kinda really miss it
  • William Singe concert ~ So William is a YouTuber, and I actually hadn’t heard of him until my friends were like “let’s go to his concert!!” etc etc. Alex Aiono (another YouTuber) was supposed to come with him, but Alex ended up not making it to the concert. But William was so good. Like, so good. I was suprised. His falsettos were real nice. And he was feeling sick that day too, so props to him for still coming out and coming out strong
  • Right Hand (cover) by Willaim Singe
    • So after the concert, I listened to William’s discovery on Spotify (naturally), and I came across his cover of Right Hand by Drake. It’s really good. I don’t remember if he sang this song at the concert (my friend said he did, but I guess I wasn’t paying attention) but I think he should have because there’s a line in the song that says “I know you want the Audi, I know you want to go to Maui”. It was a missed opportunity (if he really didn’t sing this song).
  • “Aloha State” is repeated across the bottom of the drivers licenses in tiny tiny lettering. I see you
  • Hawaii drivers permit doesn’t have a rainbow on it but when you get your real drivers license, there’s a rainbow across (I didn’t notice that until now) and I feel so accomplished seeing that. Look Ma, I made it
  • Speaking of driving, my dad bought me a car. Well, it’s actually my parents’ car (or our car), since it’s under my parents’ names (easier to get insurance for it). But I primarily drive it.
    • It’s a 2009 BMW bimmer, we bought secondhand. It’s got a sunroof, nice working AC, AUX/USB port – it’s basically got all the basics down. The break is sensitive and the gas feels slightly loose so I have to put a bit more pressure on it. But overall it’s great.
    • Very different from driving the truck – for one thing I feel closer to the ground – but I’m getting used to the changes. I love it!
  • Switched On Pop” Podcast
    • I’ve been listening to mostly this podcast, which is where two guys break down and analyze music, lyrics, songs, and artists. I’ve only listened to several sessions so far, but I think it’s so great. Very informative and also very entertaining. (P.S. I’m open to any podcast suggestions.)
  • Demin a-line midi skirt I thrifted
  • Beaded hair pins from Claire’s
    • I’ve been doing that pinned back, half-do hairstyle a lot and I like to add a pair of these pins to jazz it up
  • Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch (book)
    • I was drawn to this book because I love love and I really love gelato. This book was really cute. I love how the setting was in Florence –  I’ve never been, but after reading this book I have a sense of what it would be like. I love how there’s unexpected twists in the main character’s story, as well as in other secondary characters. The book was really interesting. The ending felt a bit rushed, but overall it was still really good.
    • “Sometimes I feel like my time is divided into two categories: time with X, and time spent waiting to be with X.” ~ gurl, that’s how I feel too
  • First & Then by Emma Mills (book)
    • I absolutely love this book! I was looking through my eReader to see which book I should read next and I saw this. I don’t remember why I initially got it – what this book is even about – but I decided to start reading it because I must have gotten it for a reason. And as I read the book I knew why I got it. This book is so good! What I love most about this book is the incorporation of Jane Austen. I also love how real the main character felt and how relateable she was. I thought the issues were addressed really well. Overall, really great book. I couldn’t put it down, I read it in a day (it’s not that long).
    • “A thousand electric cars could run on how you feel when you know that the person you like likes you back. It feels incredible. Like it shouldn’t be possible. Of all the happy coincidences to ever exist, it’s one of the happiest.” ~ that is my favorite. It’s like someone put my thoughts and feelings into coherant words
  • Bleachers – Don’t Take The Money
    • Yay new Bleachers music!
    • “You steal the air out of my lungs, you make me feel it” ~ when I first heard this line, I felt it
  • Harry Styles – Sign of the Times
    • Okay, I was not expecting this. I really was not prepared for this. When I first heard this song, it really surprised me. From the feel of the intro and when Harry starts singing, I knew this song was going to be good. And it actually is amazing
    • 4:20 ~ that part is my favorite
    • Also my favorite, that little guitar bit right before the chorus, you know what I’m talking about right?
  • Tom Rosenthal Fenn Album Trailer
    • I really like Tom Rosenthal’s voice and music. His trailer for his upcoming album is so clever and creative and funny and it’s something I haven’t seen done before. I really like it, and I’m excited for his new album
  • Free trails of Spotify Premium ~ I’m really sad the trials are only usually 30 days. I’m even more sad about the subscription fee for Premium (why is it so much? can I at least pick which kinds of advertisements I want to listen to???)
  • Fuller House on Netflix
    • I binged watched the first two seasons. I actually enjoyed it. I only remember a few of the old episodes of Full House, but this reboot is quite good and funny
  • Beauty and the Beast (2017)
    • Finally watched this movie, and I really liked it! I loved how they added extra songs that weren’t in the original. (While watching the movie, I was like, “whaaaaat, this song wasn’t in the old one”.) It’s all good though. I really liked how they stayed true to the original. Emma Watson’s voice is beautiful. She’s just really beautiful in general. But, I will say that I actually didn’t think the Beast, as a Prince again, was handsome, so that threw me off especially at the end. I think it’s the long hair, because I think Dan Stevens is really handsome with his shorter haircut.
  • Speaking of hair, I cut my own. I watched a few YouTube videos on how to cut your hair so I thought I could do it. And I thought that since I was just cutting it all one length it wouldn’t be that hard. Turns out, it’s really difficult. In the end I had to ask my mom to fix it because it started to not be straight and all one length. Would I do it again? Probably not.
  • I texted K this month, and the conversation was really good. It was also really random. Our conversation took a turn to ants, as in we started talking about ants. Apparently I like a boy who likes ants. I can live with that. I really like how our converstions can be of anything. I just really like him
  • Maui sunflower field, of Pacific Biodiesel
  • I was thinking about how much has happened to me these past weeks. How I got a job, my license, and a car – it’s blown my mind. If you would have told me this time last year that these things would happen to me at this time now, I would have thought were dreaming. But it has happened. And I’m not dreaming. I just feel really blessed
  • April is Jazz Appreciation Month, also known as JAM
Leave a Reply

