POW, #11 – Split Tone

I’ve never heard of the split tone technique until this challenge. For those of you – like me – who may not know what is it, don’t worry because your girl got you.

Split Tone is an editing technique where the shadows and highlights are toned with different colors. It’s often used with color grading in the media to give a scene a desired look and feel.

Even though I’ve never heard of this technique, I had a lot of fun with it. I had so much fun that I couldn’t decide which photo I liked best so I’m going to share with you my favorite two.

IMG_1937IMG_1955

The top photo has a cyan shadow and yellow highlight.

The bottom photo has a red shadow and cyan highlight.

I just love how there’s a lot of freedom in this technique with how the photo will turn out.

And I really love how the photos look like they were shot on film and processed in a darkroom. I love it all!

(03/12/17; 5:52PM // 03/13/17; 10:31AM)

Leave a Reply

