I Wrote A Haiku About You Each Month And This Is What I Got, 2016

i.
You’re having fun half
a world away, but please still
think of me sometimes

ii.
I can’t believe you
like me too. I am happy
we are here and now

iii.
I’d never have thought
an upside-down smiley face
would mean contentment

iv.
I hope you don’t have
allergies ’cause flowers are
blooming. So are we.

v.
Plane tickets paid for
I will be seeing you soon
Hold on until then

vi.
I am coming back
I am coming there to you
It’s like coming home

vii.
Blue flower pinned coat
Carne asada tacos
Us sharing a tab

viii.
And then you smiled
I thought my heart would give out
I don’t want to leave

ix.
I hope you don’t mind
I told my mom about you
It’s scary but nice

x.
I wish I was there
to give you a hug a say
we will be okay

xi.
sunrise and Google
unnecessary sweaters
I wish you were here

xii.
colder weather now
it’s almost as if I’m there
not quite, but it’ll do

– 12 Months of You, 2016

Leave a Reply

