For K, i

My really good friend (aka the guy I really like) was going through a tough time and I decided to email him to try to encourage and cheer him up. I’m not the best at cheering people up. I almost always never know what to say (maybe even say the wrong things) during tough emotional situations. I’m awkward. I laugh at inappropriate times. So I tried being me and random, hoping in turn it would cheer him up also. (Spoiler alert: It did and he said he really appreciated it.)

In that email I attached a funny dog meme (because I know he likes dogs) and a playlist of songs. I thought a playlist would also make him feel better, as music makes me feel better.

Thinking about what songs to put in the playlist was tough. I didn’t want to put a lot of songs, but there were also a lot of songs I wanted to put. I didn’t know what songs would cheer him up so I thought about the songs that cheer me up and make me feel good (is it weird that I like to listen to sad songs when I’m sad?), and I went from there. And this is what I got:

  • All I Want – Kodaline
  • As Long as You Love Me – Backstreet Boys
  • Bob in the Rain and the Lizard of Hope – Tom Rosenthal
  • Breezeblocks – alt-J
  • Fine One Day – Tom Rosenthal
  • Float On – Modest Mouse
  • Folding Chair – Regina Spektor
  • Hopeless Wanderer – Mumford & Sons
  • It’s A Good Day – Peggy Lee
  • Out Of The Woods – Ryan Adams
  • Pacific – Sleeping At Last
  • Rise Up – Andra Day
  • Rollercoaster – Bleachers
  • Tear In My Heart – Twenty One Pilots
  • West – Sleeping At Last
  • Yellow – Coldplay

There are songs that I really like, some that are sad, some weird, and some that would be calming. Some of them kinda sound similar, but there’s a reason why I choose each song (if you want to know why, don’t hesitate to ask). I was really nervous to give him the playlist, because I didn’t know how he would take it and the songs. But I thought I should just do it because if I don’t do it now, then I would never do it and miss this opportunity. If not now, when, right? Ultimately, I’m glad I did.

You can listen to the playlist on Spotify if you like.

I hope it cheers you up, makes you feel good or makes you smile. Please let me know if it did and also what other songs cheers you up and makes you smile.

Leave a Reply

