Letters to June, #24

Dear June,

I have a nephew. Today my sister gave birth to a beautiful baby boy. His name is Gauge Ezra. He was born at 5:09pm, weighing 7.7lbs at 20.5 inches.

Being in the room with her again while she giving birth was scary. (She let me be there when she had my niece nearly three years ago.) I almost forgot how scary and painful giving birth is and I wasn’t even the one doing it. It seemed like my sister was in pain more this time, but the delivery was much quicker. My sister is a champion for sure.

But it was also beautiful. I couldn’t help but cry once my sister pushed him out. He’s here and alive and I was there when it happened. Circle of life man. 

Gauge has so much hair (just like his sister). And he’s so tiny but big at the same time. It doesn’t really make sense but I hope you know what I mean.

Side note: I kinda have this thing in which I don’t want to hold a newborn baby until at least 3 months old. They’re just so fragile and small and I feel like I’ll get so nervous I’ll drop the baby. I know it’s strange, but that’s just how I am. I can still love from two feet away just the same.

I’ll write to you soon June. Thank you for today.

Love and all the good things,

Lar

Leave a Reply

