Letters to June, #17

Dear June,

When I was a child, I liked to read. Like actual books, and not from a device screen (those weren’t even common then). And when I went to school, I continued enjoying reading. And I still enjoy reading a lot today.

My favorite children’s book is Chika Chika Boom Boom. It’s an alphabet book, with nice rhymes and involves a coconut tree. Basically the book is awesome. I remember buying it from a Scholastic catalog thing they passed out every so often. 

(Man I really miss those Scholastic catalog orders June. I guess it’s true that you don’t know a good thing until it’s gone.)

Anyways, my order came with the book (a really large book) and a cassette tape (yes a cassette tape; I’m so glad I got to live during a time when tapes were still around). The tape was of a man reading the book. I remember listening to that tape over and over while reading along. I think I even memorized if not all of it then most of it. And after the book was read, he would say the alphabet A-Z and then backwards from Z-A. I never quite could learn how recite the alphabet backwards.

I don’t have that book or tape anymore, but June I really wish I did. I do have a smaller-sized shorter version of Chika Chika Boom Boom that I found at a used bookstore a few years ago, but it’s not the same.

I just wanted to share that with you June. That book kinda reminds me of you. And if you ever come across that book, please read it for me. I’ll write to you soon.

Love and all the good things,

Lar

Leave a Reply

