Letters to June, #12

Dear June,

Have you ever thought about how much time we waste or spend waiting?

I think about waiting from time to time. Especially when I am waiting for something or someone. And the thought occurred to me while I was waiting for the water to fill the pitcher that I spend a lot of time waiting.

I wait for someone to pick me up. I wait for the water to warm up before taking a shower. I wait for my nail polish to dry. I wait for my laundry to be done. I wait for a text message or phone call. I wait for seven days for a new episode, and sometimes I have to wait longer. I wait for 10 seconds before Netflix plays the next episode. I wait until my hair dries before I go to sleep. I wait in traffic and for the stoplight to turn green. I wait for 30 minutes after I eat before going to swim in the ocean. I wait until the iron is hot enough to iron. I wait for my phone to charge. I wait for my laptop to start up. I wait for my coffee or tea to cool down before I drink it. I wait for me to “be ready” to start a serious relationship with someone. I wait for the microwave to hit 00:00. I wait for things to get better.

And the list goes on and on. Sometimes we do other things in the meantime while we wait. To make the waiting seek shorter. Because waiting can be so long.

But we can’t not wait. I think waiting is inevitable and we all do it. I feel like I spend so much time waiting instead of actually doing things. And it feels like sometimes people also wait so that they don’t have to do. Like ‘I’ll wait for this so that I can do that’ but we say that as an excuse because sometimes we don’t need it to do the thing we want or should do.

I don’t even know if I’m making any sense June. This is me rambling and I hope it made some sense to you. Anyways, I’ll write to you soon.

Love and all the good things,

Lar

Leave a Reply

