Letters to June, #6

Dear June,

It’s Monday. I used to not like Mondays. But now I just see it as another day of the week, albeit, the day of the week that has the unfortunate placing of being right after “the weekend” – which is when all the shenanigans happen.

Why can’t we have adventures on the weekdays? What happened to spontaneity? Why does the weekend (and I’m not talking about the artist but I guess it could also apply) have all the fun? Why does Monday have to be the low day after the high of the weekend? Why can’t Monday mean a fresh start to a new week?

(Which makes me think, when do you start your week June? Some people start on Sunday. I start my week on Monday.)

Anyways, I am well aware of the fact that people have lives and jobs that take up the weekdays. And it’s unfortunate that people can’t have adventures whenever whatever day of the week, but that’s life. I guess it would be more unfortunate to work weekends, even one day of the weekend, and miss an adventure of some sort. Or whatever. I don’t know.

So the weekend comes and goes. And then come Monday, when people ask each other ‘How was your weekend’ and then you kinda feel obligated to say it was good even though it might not have been but you don’t want to seem like a loser or something so you think of at least one good thing that happened to make it seem like the whole weekend was good. And then you ask the same question back to the person and the process continues.

So I’m just going to pretend that you asked me how my weekend was.

June: How was your weekend?

Lar: My weekend? It was good.

Lar: I went to the movies with some friends. I had dinner with my cousins and it felt nice just us girls talking and laughing. I started on a book last night and I finished it this afternoon. It was ‘Not If I See You First’ by Eric Lindstrom, and I thought it to be a really good book. I liked it.

Lar: How was your weekend?

I hope you really had a good weekend June. I hope it was even great. I’ll write to you soon.

 

Love and all the good things,

Lar

Leave a Reply

