Letters to June, #2

Dear June,

How was your day today? My day was pretty chill, and not only just because it rained again in the afternoon. I was actually quite productive today and worked on a few projects.

I finished sewing some nursing pads for my sister because it’s cheaper to make your own.  My sister is pregnant (if you didn’t deduce it from the previous sentence). She’s due to give birth at the end of the month. It’s going to be a boy! There’s only about a handful of people that knows his name and I am happy to say that I am one of those people. (I mean, of course she was going to tell me beforehand – I’m her sister.) Though, I can’t tell you what it is (because it’s not exactly set in stone yet, or set in paper for that matter) so June I guess you’ll just have to wait to know what it’s going to be. Oh, the suspense!

After I finished making the nursing pads, I repaired my black jacket. Several weeks ago I washed my black jacket – gentle cycle, mind you – and when I took it out of the washing machine, there was a long rip in the lining. (The horror!) I really love this jacket, so the rip made me really sad. Well, I guess I should have suspected that would happen since the label on the jacket says “dry clean only”. (I think those pesky “dry clean only” clothing are secretly out to get me June!) Since just the lining was ripped and no one was going to see it (but me), I could tolerate it. But when I wore the jacket last week, one of the buttons came out. (Double horror!) So today I decided it was time to fix it and hand sew it back up and on.

Then, since I was already hand sewing, I wanted to add more hand embroidery on this pouch I’m planning on sewing. I’m using leftover denim – from when I cut my jeans into shorts – for the pouch. I just recently started hand embroidery and so far it’s going good. On one side there’s a quote (it’s more of an inside joke between me and my guy friend) and some lazy daisies. And on the other side I made a cursive L. I’m surprising myself on how good it’s turning out. I think it’s such a nice feeling to challenge yourself and then feel good about going beyond what you thought you could do. It makes me feel like I’m doing something right.

Oh! I forgot to mention that when I was using the sewing machine, my needle kept on getting stuck in the fabric because there were so many layers. So I had to remove the needle and put it back multiple times. There’s this button on my machine that makes the needle/needle holder go into a top/start position. I pressed that button, not realizing that my finger was also below its path of restarting, and the needle holder jammed into my left hand index finger. I was so surprised by the pain that I didn’t know what to do. The needle holder seemed like it was stuck because when I pressed that button again, the holder didn’t budge. So I had to pry my finger out. It hurt a lot, but my finger is fine. There was no bleeding or bruising (as of now). I’m kinda shocked that that was my first accident I’ve had with the sewing machine.

So June, the lesson of this story is to make sure to know where your fingers are at all times.

I really hope you had a good day today June. I’ll write to you soon.

 

Love and all the good things,

Lar

Leave a Reply

