Letters to June, #1

Dear June,

I haven’t written a letter in so long, I don’t know how to start. I can’t actually hug you or shake your hand (if you’re not the hugging type) or smile at you – although just so you know, I am smiling write now. (Haha, did you catch my pun?)

I guess I’ll start by asking how you are. So, how are you June? I’m doing well (if you’re wondering) and I hope you are too. Too bad I can’t actually say ‘Nice to see you again June’ because it really is nice to see you again, or rather, it’s nice to have you again.

I’m not sure if I’m ready for this, June – writing a letter to you everyday – but I’m going to do it anyway (or at least try to). A new month, a new beginning, so a good enough excuse to start something new, right?

Starting new things scare me more than I’d like to admit, and I am sure almost everyone feels the same way too. I mean, don’t get me wrong, new things are great (most of the time). It’s the act of starting that scares me the most. That first step. Into something new, something unfamiliar. Or even if it’s something familiar, the outcome is not always guaranteed. And that’s just as (if not, more) scary. I know fear can be a good thing sometimes, but a lot of the time I feel like I have unnecessary fear. I get too jumpy and anxious, and I don’t even know why. Why am I so scared? Do you ever feel that way June? It seems like you don’t but I never know for sure.

Anyways, it rained a lot yesterday and most of this morning, which made me happy. When it rains, I like to open as many windows as I can so that the sound fills the house and it’s cool and nice. And then I like to drink some tea and light a candle (though I forgot to light one yesterday) and feel warm and cozy. Yesterday’s tea was French Vanilla. I bet you’re more of an iced coffee, or maybe pomegranate or watermelon tea if there is such a thing (and now that I’m thinking about it, those kinds of tea sounds really good).

Today I had a chocolate pudding snack cup. You know the ones, clear cup with a red top wrapper that comes in a pack of four. It’s nice how the packaging hasn’t changed. It reminded me of school field trips and afternoon snacks, and I felt like a kid again. I haven’t had one in so long, even though I am able to buy my own, as many as I want, and eat one whenever I want to. I kinda miss it. The chocolate one is the best in my opinion, but banana pudding is also a favorite.

I’m glad I can write to you June. I just hope I can keep this up. And I hope you won’t get tired of me.

I don’t think I could never get tired of you June. You are filled with sunshine and hope and possibilities. In just a few weeks it’ll officially be summer. I’m looking forward to another good month of you.

I really hope you’re doing well June. I’ll write to you soon.

 

Love and all the good things,

Lar

Leave a Reply

