free write 0 – stuff

I have a lot of stuff. I have stuff that are useful and practical, and things I need and want. And I also have stuff I should probably get rid off.

But a part of me can’t get rid of some of my stuffs because of sentimental value things. I just store them away in a box or something and then maybe in five years or so on a cleaning day when I’m in a really good cleaning mood, I’ll throw it away without a second thought. But for now I just keep most things.

I’m a bit of a hoarder in that way. I mean I know when to throw things away. I see previews of Hoarders or shows like that I just shiver down to my bones. I don’t think it’ll ever be like that.

I guess I keep them because I’m trying to hold onto something intangible. Like a moment or place or time in my life that I miss or who I used to be. And I think that’s why I have a hard time throwing things away. What if I forget? I’d hate to forget something I loved or a time I felt happy. I couldn’t just throw those away.

But about a third of the stuff I have I don’t really need, and even though I have so much stuff, I always told myself that I don’t need much.

I’m going through my things bit by bit – more like box by box – and I’ve found some pretty interesting things. Like how I could keep something when I should’ve thrown it away. Or how thankful I kept something because it reminded me of who I used to be.

And that’s the thing: you don’t really realize how much you’ve change until you really look back and look through all the things you did and wrote and music you listened to, basically all the things you used to (and maybe still) loved.

You can throw things away from your past that you no longer need, but you can’t – and shouldn’t – throw away the you you were in the past. So might as well embrace all that stuff. I enjoy looking back at the person I used to be because then I wouldn’t be the person I am today. And I’ll be saying the same thing in 5 or 10 years from now too.

But for tangible things I don’t need, I just remind myself that I don’t need it. It makes getting rid of it easier. But then there are things you just can’t throw away. Like my old Barney t-shirt I wore as a kid, or all my school photos and IDs, or my sister’s Sailor Moon action figure she lend me, or my torn up Power Rangers folder.

So some stuff, like clothes and books, I need because I just do. And other stuff like my dad’s old film camera or all those broken sea shells I’ve picked up at the beach, I need just because. And then there are other stuff that I just have to keep, and that’s okay. Stuff is good.

Leave a Reply

