Early Surprise Graduation Gift

So I graduate in three days! I’m so excited to finally, FINALLY be done with school. And last night I got a gift from my cousin and best friend, Dana.

Okay, before I say what the gift was, let me tell you about Dana. She is four years older than me and she’s the only child. And even though she’s my cousin she been a sister to me. We didn’t exactly grow up together, but we were really close growing up. I even lived with her and her folks for a few years when we were building our house.

I told her everything. I knew she wouldn’t judge me. She helped me, listened to me, gave me advice. She still gives me advice, and I still tell her everything.

When she got married in 2009, she asked me to be her maid-of-honor and of course I accepted. I bawled after a few sentences into my maid-of-honor speech. And then she moved to Oahu, an island over, with her husband. I tried calling her at least once a week, but it wasn’t the same. The calls happened less frequently, but I would always try to catch up with her whenever I could. And then she gave birth to a beautiful baby girl in 2012. I started calling her at least once a week again, but it’s hard since she’s a mother and I always had a lot of homework. But she’s still my best friend. I still tell her everything. She still gives me advice and tells me like it is.

So the gift. Not only did she buy me this awesome leather traveler’s notebook, BUT SHE SURPRISED ME BY ACTUALLY FLYING OVER AND BEING HERE! I only get to see her once a year for just a few days, so this is so nice for to fly over here and for my graduation.

It’s funny how you don’t realize how much you miss someone until you actually see that person face to face.

And then Dana said that she has ANOTHER GIFT that’s supposed to come in the mail on Saturday. I don’t really care what it is because she’s here.

So this is what she got me:

Processed with VSCOcam with c3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with k2 preset

The cards is one of those signing ones. The song is the tune to “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun” but it’s “Squirrels Just Wanna Have Fun”. It’s so cute, I love it.

Look at those charms! It smells so good! I absolutely love it! I’m itching to fill the blank pages with awesome travel adventures!

Leave a Reply

